Crayon Rocks

Crayon Rocks

With 4 kids in the house, I am constantly looking for new ways to keep the kids busy and get their creative, artistic sides more active.  My kids LOVE to color. We have 100’s of coloring books and a HUGE crayon bucket. I would have to say we go through at least two boxes of crayons a month. Our kids are 3, 4, 6 and 6. While the older kids know how to properly hold pencils and crayons, the younger kids don’t. They tend to hold the crayon however they are able to make the crayon or pencil write. This is not healthy for the little muscles in their hands. The more kids hold the crayons the wrong, the harder it will be to “reverse” the learning.

858968_309271782508690_1437520597_o

Traditional crayons are hard for younger kids to hold and use. They also break extremely easy due to the fact that younger kids apply more pressure while trying to color. Depending on the type of crayon you use they break even easier. I have noticed that my younger kids take the broken crayons and peel off the paper and color using the side of the crayon rather than the point and pinching the crayon between their pointer finger and their thumb.

19814_309321152503753_1406400279_n

Crayon Rocks are special one of  a kind crayons developed by teacher, Barbara Lee, for her students. Barbara wanted to create a writing tool that helped encourage children to use thumb, first and second fingers in a tripod grip. Helping to correctly develop their motor skills.

Crayon Rocks are perfect for children with cerebral palsy, autism, developmental delays and various forms of learning disabilities! Crayon Rocks are great for Pre-School and Kindergarten classroom and students. Parents and teachers of special needs students often told Barbara how much their children love them.  

Crayon Rocks1

We were sent Crayon Rocks to review in 16 Summer Colors. Red, pink, blue, sky, green, grass, dark yellow, light yellow, orange, peach, purple, light purple, brown, tan, black and gray.

So why does Mommy and Baby Reviews love Crayon Rocks?

They are made in America! We LOVE American made products! They are made in Hestand, Kentucky, U.S.A. using American labor.  Crayon Rocks are made from natural soy wax, using American-grown soy beans! Crayon Rocks are not only are great for kids, but the elderly! Coloring is great therapy. Cheyenne and Irving have a much easier time coloring using Crayon Rocks. Crayon Rocks transfer to the paper without using the amount of pressure needed that traditional crayons need.

Crayon Rocks are also great for exploring, creating fun arts and crafts and helping develop your little ones motor skills.

Crayon Rocks are a safe and eco-friendly product.  Crayon Rocks are non-toxic. We do highly recommend that you supervise younger children when they use Crayon Rocks. They are on the smaller side and could be a potential choking hazard.

(A special thank you to Crayon Rocks for sending Mommy and Baby Reviews the product to review free of charge. All opinions stated in our review are our own truthfully opinion and were not influenced by the sponsor or from getting the review product free of charge. We were in no way compensated for our review or opinion. Mommy and Baby Reviews only recommends products and services that we feel are a good fit for our readers.)

61 comments for “Crayon Rocks

  1. brandan
    February 24, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    so cool i want them

  2. theresa golis
    February 24, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    these would be great for my kids

  3. becky sessa
    February 24, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    My 19m old is just learning to color now, I would love to get these for him!

  4. February 24, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    both my boys have fine motor issues so these would be great for them!!

  5. Pam
    February 24, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    Great review. Those look cool. I hope the sponsor lets you do a giveaway, I would love to win those!

    I wonder if they are small enough to swallow. Do they taste good? LOL

  6. Tiffany M
    February 24, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    My children are 2,3,4 and 5. I know my two youngest would love to have these.

  7. February 24, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    My FAMILY LOVES TO COLOR, i AM 52 AND I STILL DO, LOL I LOVE THE FACT THAT THIS IS MADE IN THE USA

  8. Debby Chandler
    February 24, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    those are really nice. thanks for the review and yes, I want some of those.

  9. Elena
    February 24, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Looks cool! My kids would love these

  10. Karen Propes
    February 24, 2013 at 3:52 pm

    What a neat idea, love to get some, they are so cool.
    I would love to carry these in my purse instead of regular until she gets older.

  11. michelle oakley warner
    February 24, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    wow these are way to cool, i am so getting some, thanks for the greatpost, i never knew they had something like this cool

  12. laurie nykaza
    February 24, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    I had never seen these but it makes perfect sense with little ones hands being able to hold these much better than the regular ones. Being usa made is important to.

  13. junetta
    February 24, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    I like this side!! Very cool!

  14. June S.
    February 24, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Wow, have never seen these before. Like the idea.

  15. Peggy Greco
    February 24, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    These are awesome and would give to greatniece or greatnephew.

  16. Cheryl Rahkonen
    February 24, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    Thanks for this great review. I have not seen these and would love to have a set. My 5 year old grandson is having such a difficult time learning to use a pencil or crayon……because of the way he holds it. I have thought, ” well he will eventually learn how to hold his pencil or crayon correctly”. It never crossed my mind that this could become a habit that would be very difficult to break. Also, I love the fact that they are made in the USA.

  17. February 24, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    These are so awesome! But how long do they last, or how far do they go! Haha…does that make sense? Because they are so small, seems like you would use them right up? Great review!

  18. zoe
    February 24, 2013 at 11:21 pm

    very cute! Less mess than when I make them for my kids at home!

  19. Holly W
    February 24, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    These look so cute! And very easy and fun to use

  20. Judy Bradley
    February 24, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    Quite an interesting idea! They are pretty, but I would be afraid the little ones would eat them.

  21. February 25, 2013 at 12:20 am

    i like these

  22. cathy ddreemzz
    February 25, 2013 at 1:36 am

    interesting looking product, you must really watch the little ones using them, I still remember mine eating crayons…yuckers

  23. Courtney
    February 25, 2013 at 1:49 am

    That is different. Such a cool idea.

  24. February 25, 2013 at 3:03 am

    My son would love these, they would also may great presents for my great nieces and nephews

  25. Cynthia C
    February 25, 2013 at 7:56 am

    Interesting concept. I’d love to see kids use them.

  26. Alana Vester
    February 25, 2013 at 11:02 am

    These are cool! I’d like to see them with faces. :-)

  27. Lisa Brown
    February 25, 2013 at 11:17 am

    Those are so unique. I want them :)

  28. Karen McMahon
    February 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    What a great idea…ease of use and great colors!

  29. Kristin Gilbert
    February 25, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    Crayon Rocks are so cool, kids will go crazy for them

  30. CarolynH
    February 25, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    These sound wonderful for children & the elderly. I want to get some for my mom & my son.

  31. Sarah L
    February 25, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    Looks like a good product for fine motor skills and learning to color.

  32. Diane Sallans
    February 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    those look like fun – so different – love the colors!

  33. Barbara Montag
    February 25, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    The grands would love these – they love to draw and color.

  34. Chevy Reid Roper
    February 25, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    I love these. They are just perfect for small hands. The colors are so vibrant and playful! Great review!

  35. Winningmama2013
    February 25, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I love these rock crayons, and so need to get some for my 4 year old daughter, I just haven’t gotten a chance. She is constantly breaking her crayons, and I have spent a small fortune on crayons and she is only 4…ahhhh!

  36. polly
    February 27, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    fun idea/great colors!…our 4 year old grandson loves to color

  37. Mikki Cross
    February 27, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    I love that they are non-toxic and made in America. I think it’s wonderful for the little ones.Kudos for a dedicated teacher for figuring this out to help promote proper motor skills in her students.

  38. Anita Adkison
    February 27, 2013 at 9:14 pm

    Those are way cool. I love taking something so ordinary and making it unique.

  39. February 28, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    These look really fun

  40. Sue Hull
    March 1, 2013 at 1:23 am

    I love these Rock Crayons! My neice would like these,and I like that there’s no paper to take off.They don’t need to be sharpened.
    Awesome Review!! :)

  41. Wendy Mastin
    March 1, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    these look like fun. I would have to see how the kids liked them first.

  42. Rich Hicks
    March 1, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Great idea! Perfect for the kids to hang onto and do their artwork!

  43. Judy L
    March 2, 2013 at 1:08 am

    This is genius! My youngest grandson has Aspbergers and has difficulty holding crayons and other writing instruments. These crayons would be great for him and hopefully help him want to draw and color.

  44. jen gersch
    March 2, 2013 at 4:57 am

    cool, but could be confused for jellly beans

  45. denise
    March 2, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Pretty neat but I be almost every kid puts them in their mouths

  46. Allison Downes
    March 2, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    Those looks cooler, and I also love that they are American Made :) Thanks for sharing!

  47. Charlene Shaver
    March 2, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    Cool colors & American made, love them :)

  48. Bobby Tarumi
    March 2, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    As you mentioned in your review, it’s a choking hazard. Idk if I’d get this for my kids.. It looks too much like candy lol.

  49. Alicia Som
    March 2, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    What a unique gift for the kids!! I love this idea and it would totally get them excited about coloring again! Thanks!

  50. Krista Grandstaff
    March 2, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    Super cute for the wee ones I know with fine motor issues, but I wonder how effective they’d be if I am constantly taking them out of mouths…lol..they look pretty tasty :)

  51. Susan Smith
    March 2, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I have never seen these before. My only concern is that they look like candy.

  52. Maria Iemma
    March 3, 2013 at 8:31 am

    These are really different I am impressed by them, although they do look like candies I think they are best for older kids, not toddlers

  53. christal c w
    March 3, 2013 at 8:58 am

    These would make a great easter items for my kids. Thanks did not know such a thing

  54. Sandy V.
    March 3, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Wow, this is a clever idea. I did not know writing with regular crayons was harmful.

  55. Ttrockwood
    March 3, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    These look like so much fun! I want some for myself!!!

  56. Gianna
    March 3, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    Cute idea for crayons!

  57. Jan Lee
    March 3, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    I like that they are non toxic and made in America. :) Thank you for the review!

  58. Susan Harp
    March 3, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    These sound like an excellent new product for children, safe and fun! The best part is that they are American-made!!

  59. jessica s
    March 3, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    dumb idea, kids would eat them

  60. March 3, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    wow, this is great for kids with special needs. They just playing while doing the coloring.

  61. March 3, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    Those are so cool.. I’d like to have some…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *